My 2014 in Movies #2

What a better way to start a new year than to talk about films, right? As I’ve done in the past two years (2013 and 2014), every once in a while I get together all the films I’ve watched and do tiny reviews of them. I only did one of these posts for 2013 but this year this is the second post already. And if I normally only review two groups of 10 films, this time I’m bringing more reviews. I started watching these films on my Summer holidays but I watched most of them during my Master’s first semester. I know I did watch more films than those I presented for 2013, but I sure did watch a lot more this year, mostly during my holidays (you can see all these reviews here and here).

Before starting my Masters I though I wasn’t going to have any time available to watch films, but it has proven to be quite the opposite. Not that I actually have a lot more free time now – yeah, I have fewer classes per week but there’s a lot more work/studying to do -, but I think I’m more organised this semester. Every time I’m given a new assignment, I immediately start working on it, as to finish it as soon as possible. This allows me to have basically every evening/night free, the perfect time to watch a film. And I’ve been doing a few film nights with some friends.

Movies 2014 (3)

In Secret – I really liked this film. I’ll admit I can’t say much about it because I totally forgot to write about it when I watched this, but honestly I can’t remember a thing. However, I can say that’s a really good film.

Veronica Mars – seeing this film made me realised that’s being to long since I have watched an episode from “Veronica Mars“. I missed this tv show and the film doesn’t disappoint. It’s worth seeing on a lazy day or something. I really enjoyed it.

G.B.F. – I saw this film in one of those times where we are so bored and tired that we can watch anything, as much stupid as it may be. The film actually entertains you but still it was too stupid and predictable. It provides good laughing moments and probably an ending not that predictable but it isn’t anything special.

Transcendence – it’s not one of those films that are super hard to understand and figure out what its message is, but it sure as hell makes you analyse critically how technology has evolved in the past decades and how much it could evolve in the next few. The development of new technologies is always a tricky process and I think this matter is well shown here. This film actually raises many ethical and moral questions.

The Covenant – it’s one of those watchable films. Even though it’s not that good, it actually entertains you for 90 minutes. It’s suppose to be an action horror film but I didn’t see the horror part in it. Actually, there’s only a few films that really deserve to be called horror films and this is not one of those cases. It was so predictable, especially the horror ones. I honestly watched this film because it has Sebastian Stan in it and it was the only interesting aspect I found; well apart from the soundtrack that isn’t that bad.

Public Enemies – it is a good film and I liked it but I think it was missing something, not sure what though. I honestly was expecting more from this film.

Frozen – I should have seen this film a long time ago. Seriously, it is really good. Even though I wanted to watch it, I mainly did it because the main characters are going to be part of “Once Upon a Time“, so I really had to see it in order to understand what’s probably gonna happen with them in the show. I guess Disney never disappoints, and I didn’t this time. The story itself is super interesting and I really liked the ending (it might have been a bit predictable but I actuality think it wasn’t – which makes this as an extra point in favour of the film). The songs were amazing. And speaking of this, the company I had while watching this film make it even more enjoyable to watch, because the two guys that were with me (plus another girl) were singing along. It was a really good evening.

School of Rock – this film is really good and it’s an amazing stress relief. It provides you with several laughable moments and it’s really entertaining. I recommend this film.

Very Good Girls – I liked the film but somehow I think I was expecting something more. I don’t know what; I just know that at the end I felt like something was missing. However, it is really good and you should watch it. The storyline is not new, but I really liked Dakota Fanning and Elizabeth Olsen‘s performances – really perfect for their characters.

Zombieland – another super funny film, seriously. It’s a really good and entertaining film. You should watch it of you haven’t. I wasn’t expecting much from it but I really enjoyed watching this film.

Movies 2014 (4)

Hitch – I’m not a fan of romantic comedies but there’s a few of them that are actually watchable, and this is one of these cases. It’s not great but it entertains you. It’s good for a lazy Saturday afternoon.

Divergent – I haven’t read the book yet (even though I’ve wanted to do it for a very long time), so I can’t make any comparisons between the book and its adaptation to a film. However, seeing the film left me super curious about the rest of the story and wondering how the book is. So definitely I’ll have to read it in the near future. The sooner the better – I just wish I had brought it with me. Well, I can always read it when I go back home for Christmas. About the film itself, I really (really) liked it. It is amazing. At first I thought it had resemblances with “the Hunger Games” trilogy but not at all, so it’s once again idiotic to make comparisons between sagas just because they look-alike. The part of one being better than the other is equally stupid. I can say that the cast for “Divergent” was well-chosen; couldn’t be happier with the main cast. And now I can’t wait to see the next film (it’s gonna come out this year right?).

Begin Again – this film is really good. Seriously, really amazing. I wasn’t expecting wonders from it but it did surprise me, in a very good way. You should see it if you haven’t. Some parts are just absolutely funny and amazing. And the songs are really awesome and beautiful. I think I can say that this film is kinda cheesy but a good cheesy though. I just loved the ending.

Palo Alto – first impression, this is film is just watchable; kinda just perfect for a lazy weekend when we feel like doing nothing productive. This was a really weird film – I think that’s all I can say about it. I must admit that during some parts it was actually quite boring.

Boyhood – for me, the main idea for the storyline of this film was great. This film is really awesome. Guys you should really see it if you haven’t yet. The dialogues between the characters are the best. And the main character is just amazing – I just loved him. This film is absolutely brilliant. The fact that we get to follow each character’s lives is what makes this such a great film. This is, so far, the best film I saw this year. It really should be nominated for the Academy Awards. I’ll be very disappointed if it doesn’t happen. I really think it should win the Oscar for best film.

The Spectacular Now – another really good film. I’ve been seen stuff about this film on the Internet for a long time and I’m so glad I finally saw it because it’s amazing. It’s a romantic comedy, which means that it’s storyline revolves around a romantic couple, but this film is so much more than that. This is another film that I highly recommend.

What If – the beginning of this film is so hilarious; omg it’s so amazing. I’ll admit it is kinda cheesy but it’s such a good film. I really liked Dan Radcliffe‘s performance, especially because you just kinda forget that he was in “Harry Potter“, and I think this is an amazing thing for an actor; it’s a great quality not to be totally attached to one of the characters you’ve played. I never expected to like this film as much as I actually did. I recommend it too, definitely.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – I don’t think there’s much I can say about this film (and the next one) since they’re so famous. It’s good to go back to the first films and see how little and young they were. It has been a while since I’ve seen this film – I think I’ve re-watched more times the recent ones.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – all I can say here is basically what I said for the previous one. This is by far one of the best series that ever made it to cinema. These are some of those films that we all should see at least once in our lives.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 – I loved it, loved it, loved it. It was absolutely amazing and I highly recommend it. See it of you haven’t. Once again, Francis Lawrence did an awesome job directing it. And I couldn’t be more glad about the cast – it is just perfect. Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Elizabeth Banks’ performances were just amazing. The film is really and I really love it ending – brilliant performance by Josh Hutcherson, seriously. I thought that this part was gonna have more action, but it really does not disappoint at all.

movies 2014 (5)

Grease – an absolutely famous film that everyone seems to say wonders about it but I just can’t. Not that it is a bad film, not at all, I’m just simply not a fan of romantic comedies, and this wasn’t one of those exceptions. It’s kinda cheesy but it’s a good film. I just felt that wow factor was totally missing in this film. Nevertheless, it is a really enjoyable film.

The Breakfast Club – this is another one of those films that I should have seen long ago. I had already seen some bits of it here and there but never the entire film. And it is absolutely amazing. It is going definitely to the list of my favourite films. It’s a classic and a must-see. If you haven’t watched it, your really should do it.

The Hobbit: the Battle of the Five Armies – and another trilogy that reaches its end. Once again, I can’t make comparisons between the film and the book because I’ve never read it but it seems to me that it may have not been a bad adaptation after all. As for the film itself, I must say it was a bit disappointing. I’m not the biggest fan of the “Lord of the Rings” but I live the first two Hobbit films – they were absolutely amazing and both had that “wow factor“. However, I can’t say the same about this last film. Don’t get me wrong, this film is really good and you should go see it of you’ve seen the previous two, but it’s just not as good as the others. I don’t know if it’s just me but those visual effects were lacking something – they weren’t as good as I thought they would be. Finally, I believe that seeing it in 3D is not worth it; at least, I didn’t find it anything special.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – well, I don’t think there’s much to say about this film that I hasn’t already said about the other two I also watched. This has to be one of my favourite Christmas traditions: I always watch one of the “Harry Potter” films with my mum on the 25th December. And this is my favourite film of the eight of them. They are all great but I’ve always loved this one more.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – and continuing with our Christmas tradition, we watched a second film instead of just one (as we usually did). This must be one of the films that I’ve watched less times – or maybe not; honestly I don’t know how many times I’ve watched all the “Harry Potter” films. Either way, this is another amazing film. One of my favourite parts is the introduction of Luna – she’s definitely a great character.

Papillon – I think this is a really good film but I also feel like that there’s something missing in it. This [crime genre] is one of my favourite cinematography genres but I felt a tiny bit disappointed with this film because I found it, sometimes, to be quite slow. Don’t get me wrong: this film is really good but I expect that the action occurred in a more rapid way. However, this film has something really amazing – the friendship between the two main characters. The way it evolves thought the film is just amazing and super well done. This is definitely the best part of this film.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn – I’ve been wanting to see this film since it was released; I’m so glass it was on tv that day. I’ve read some pages of its comics but never anything about this particular story. It is a really good film and I can imagine how good it must be with the original voices – yeah because our stupid national tv channel decided to show the dubbed film and it was super annoying. Either way, I really enjoyed watching this film.

Batman & Hood – this film isn’t honestly that great. It’s just watchable and quite disappointing. Too much fantasy stuff for my taste and not the good kind of fantasy. Basically the plot makes not that much sense. I have to admit that the only good part of this film is watching George Clooney and Chris O’Donnell. I really do prefer the new versions of Batman, especially Christopher Nolan‘s films.

Easy A – this is one of my favourite romantic comedies, which says much about this film considering that I don’t like this genre that much. This film is so funny and Emma Stone is just perfect for this character. Her performance is absolutely flawless in this film. I like this film so much, that I may watch it at least once a year.

Ágora – honestly, I’m not exactly sure about what I think of this film. I liked, that’s for sure. I really liked Rachel Weisz and Max Minghella’s performances, and the whole plot. But I have a feeling that something was missing and I found some scenes to be quite weird. However, the film is really really good and you should definitely watch it. It makes you think about a lot of stuff and question a lot more. It just makes you realise that we live in a very complicated world.

Have you seen any of these films? What did you think about it?

7 thoughts on “My 2014 in Movies #2

  1. alexis says:

    Espero que tenhas um bom ano de 2015😀
    No ano quer passou não vi muitos filmes, andei sempre muito atarefada e nas férias de verão nunca estava por casa devidas as aulas de condução e de código. Já vi alguns dos que falaste, mas não muitos😉

    Like

Say what's on your mind

