My 2014 in Movies #1

This will probably be the last post I’ll be doing about films in the next few days, before you guys get totally bored. When I did the first post of this kind it was at the beginning of this year; it has passed 7 months since, which I can’t believe. I thought I would have been able to watch more films, especially since I watched so few last year, but it didn’t happen, at least while I was in university. During those six/seven months I didn’t watch many films, most of which were only watched when I had a mini-holiday or when I wanted to compensate for weeks in row of hard work. The truth is that university has never left me much room to watch films because somehow I’m most willing to watch TV shows at that time, and I’m pretty sure that now that I’ll star a master degree I still won’t have that time. However, I’m kinda compensating for it in these Summer holidays. Even though I have a lot of stuff to do and I actually have to study, it’s been good to just relax a bit and see some films. And I’m quite proud that I haven’t spent all this time re-watching films I’ve seen about 50 times because I usually do this. Which reminds me that I haven’t watched “Sherlock Holmes” in such a long time; I wonder if I still know all the lines (considering the amount of times I’ve watched it).

Thus, to compensate this lack of cinematographic time in my life, I watched about 10 films in just four days or so. Spending so much time on tumblr (more that I’d like to admit) made me very curious about the whole Marvel thing, especially the last films made by its studio since 2008. I’ve been wanting to do a Marvel marathon for some time, so I decided that these holidays were the perfect occasion. I haven’t watched all of the films, as you’ll see. I’m missing the last Captain America, the two new Spider-Man films and all the X-Men films (old and new ones). I think these will have to wait for another Marvel marathon (that I will do for sure). Until now, I’m pretty happy with the films I’ve watched, apart from a few exceptions. Some of these comments might not make much sense if you read them separately, especially the Marvel ones, since I wrote these comments as I was watching the films.

movies 2014 (1)
The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug – as I’ve said before (at the beginning of this year to be more precise), I’m not a big fan of LOTR but oddly enough I really like these films. I saw the first instalment last year, and I saw the second one at the beginning of this year. I wonder if now I can see all the LOTR films, because I’ve always only managed to watch the first one. As to this second instalment, it was really good as the first one. So I’m really excited to know what will happen next (since I’ve never read the book), even though I know some spoilers.

Dallas Buyers Club – for now, because it’s only the beginning of the year and much can change until the end of it, this is one of my favourite films. It’s so well produced and it is absolutely amazing. The actors did a magnificent job. Matthew McConaughey was really good. However, I’m not sure if the oscar should have gone to him because I think there was something missing in his performance. Not that it wasn’t good, I just think it was not a 100% oscar performance. On the other hand, Jared Leto was just perfect. I had never seen him act so this was a good surprise because he did a brilliant job. I might just watch some of his other films. He did an amazing performance and I think he deserved the oscar, so I’m really glad he indeed received it. It would have been very disappointing if he hadn’t won it.

Romeo and Juliet – I admit it was quite painful to watch this film because it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. It was entertaining and all but it was not enough. The problem wasn’t in the acting (or in any of the more technical parts) but it was in the script. I loved the fact that they kept it faithful to what was the kind of “language” spoken at that time but I believe they went a bit too far. The whole dialogue between characters (except for a few occasions) looked like it was a poetry reading. It’s not that is was a bad thing but I don’t think in works well in films. I mean, it fits perfectly in a play context but not in a film one. I think the screenplay should have been better adapted because the dialogues didn’t seem fluent at all. Other than that, it’s a good film to watch in a rainy afternoon.

Bachelorette – I’m not the biggest fan of rom-coms which you may have already realised by now, and its plot was quite predictable but I actually enjoyed this film. The plot and the performances weren’t that bad at all and it has some really funny moments. It’s a good film to see in an afternoon if we’re really bored.

Brave – I’ve been wanting to watch this film for a year or so and I’m glad I finally did it because it is really good. I haven’t seen a Disney film in ages too. This is a really good film for the whole family to watch. I really like the fact that Merida wasn’t like any of the other Disney princesses. She was a “breath of fresh air”; that’s for sure.

The Help – this is another film that I should have already seen. What can I say about this film? It was really good; one of the best I’ve seen so far (I’m only considering this year). Its screenplay was well written and I loved the actresses performances, especially those of Viola Davis and Emma Stone. They’re brilliant.

Gravity – this is a really good film with a good plot too. This is one of those films where you almost feel the same emotions and fears as the characters. I guarantee you that you’ll probably spend half of the film with your heart beating fast. I don’t know if it is a weird thing but I really like when a film makes you feel like you’re in the middle of the action. I think it is a good point in favour of this film. I don’t know if it is an oscar worthy performance but Sandra Bullock did a really awesome performance.

About Time – I have a couple of words that describe exactly what I thought about this film: sweet, beautiful, amazing, awesome (I know these two are pretty similar) and perfect. It was really one of the best films I’ve seen in ages. And you can definitely trust me when I say this because, as I’ve said countless times, I’m not a big fan of romantic comedies but this was one of the most perfect films I’ve ever seen. I seriously can’t say a bad thing about it. The plot is just amazing as it was the actors’ performances. Since the very beginning we kinda fall in love with the characters, especially the main one. One of the things I really liked about this film was its simplicity. The problem with rom-coms is that most of its stories have nothing to go with real life, which is something that annoys me quite a lot. They’re at either too unrealistic or over too dramatic. However, this film stands out because its story is so simple, that it is actually perfect. I highly recommend this film.

17 Again – I re-watched this film, not necessary because it is really good, but because it is actually entertaining. This is your normal Saturday afternoon film. It is a comedy-drama just like any other but still not that bad that makes you wish you haven’t wasted your time on it. Having Zac Efron on the cast may have helped it not sucking that much.

007: Quantum of Solace – I re-watched this film too, but this time it was because I really enjoy these kind of films, especially the new 007 ones (actually, I don’t think I’ve ever watched any of the old ones). For those of us who like these kind of action films, I think these ones are really good. At least I really like them.

Movies 2014 (2)
Her – this is another film I should have seen when it was released. I don’t know why it takes me so much time to see these films. I honestly don’t know. This film is totally perfect. I honestly don’t have anything bad to say about it. Its oscar for “best original screenplay” was so deserved. As much as this film is a comedy-drama, it is actually a really good and different film. It’s concept is sort of weird but I think this is what makes it so perfect. Other aspect that I really liked was, not only the actors’ performances, but also the set decorations.

The Grand Budapest Hotel – I think this is a first around here because this film was released this year and I’ve watched it already. This looks like a miracle. Pretty much what I said for the previous film I can say for this one, except the part of the oscar which this film didn’t win (or at least not yet, since it hasn’t happened). I hope to see it nominated for this award, and for the “best production design” one because every little detail of the different sets were just perfect and beautiful.

The Incredible Hulk – so as I said above, I’ve been wanting to watch the Marvel films for some time. I decided to watch them chronologically according to the dates of their releases, so I could truly follow each character’s story and growth. In a way, this was my introduction to this “world” and it was quite disappointing. The film isn’t that bad that you’d give up watching it but I was expecting more. Not sure what but something more; or something else. I really don’t know. I kinda made me question my idea about this marathon but I’m glad I stick with it and watched the other films…

Iron Man: … because they were much better and I really liked them a lot more. As the second film from the Marvel Studios, it proves to be a big improvement from the first (the film above). Its visual effects are far better and the plot is actually really good. Better than I was expecting, to be honest. And the soundtrack is just perfect. As I said, the first film (the above one) made me question my decision of watching all these films but this one kinda made me very curious. As for the actors, Robert Downey Jr. is clearly the heart and soul of this film. They couldn’t have chosen a more perfect actor to portray Tony Stark.

Iron Man 2 – this film is as good as the previous one. I must say that the visual effects are amazing. And I must admit that Paul Bettany‘s voice for the J.A.R.V.I.S. was such a brilliant choice. I’ve never read any of these super-hero comic books but I think Marvel Studios are doing a good job. Scarlett Johansson‘s bit in this film was just…wow…amazing. The sound effects are so good – I wish I had seen these films at a cinema. One detail that I find amazing about these films. Is that they’re all related to each other and the producers did a really good job at that.

Thor – I’m really enjoying these films. They’re really really good, more than what I was expecting. I mean, people on tumblr tell wonders about them, they actually have good reviews, but I’m always a bit reluctant towards this stuff. But on the other hand, it’s not that difficult for me to like a film. The visual effects keep getting better and better; the plot is still very good as the actors’ performances. I’d you haven’t watched these films, you should know that you must see until the very end of the final credits, because there’s always a little clue to what will happen next.

Captain America: the First Avenger – another equally good film. I loved its plot and especially the actor’s performances. They were all really good. Captain America‘s relationship with Bucky is just pure gold. And all I can say at the end is “Awww Bucky! No!” (I already know a couple of spoilers about this character in the second film, so that’s why I had this reaction).

The Avengers – and here’s another good film. I love the fact that behind all the seriousness discussed in this film (and in the others too), there’s always a couple of funny moments that make this plot (and the others too) an awesome one. What I also really liked in this film was the way that they made every interaction between the different superheros work super smoothly. All the actors did a great job portraying them by the way. I think this was a well-chosen cast – well done Marvel. In this context, I must add that I prefer this new Hulk – I don’t know but I prefer Mark Ruffalo over Edward Norton.

Iron Man 3 – another amazing plot and an even better performance by Robert Downey Jr. From all these superheros, Iron Man has become my favourite character. And I don’t know but I kinda always felt sorry for the robots. OMG the last scene (after the ending credits) in this film was just brilliant. I love Iron Man/Tony Stark and Bruce/Hulk‘s relationship.

Thor: the Dark World – honestly I don’t know what to say; I think my opinions are the same for all these Marvel films (apart from the first one): they’re really good; they’ve good plots and even better plot twists; their casts are perfect. I really don’t know what else to say. I’ve quite grown to like Loki. Tom Hiddleston did a magnificent job with this character.

Have you seen any of these films? What did you think about it?

9 thoughts on “My 2014 in Movies #1

Say what's on your mind

