67th British Academy Film Awards winners + red carpet looks

Yesterday was time for another film awards ceremony. This Sunday the best in feature-length films and documentaries (broadcasted in the United Kingdom) were awarded with their respective accolades. Awarded by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts, these awards are commonly known as BAFTA. As I’ve said before for the previous ceremonies, this is yet another example of a kind of preview for the Academy Awards. Thus, these are the 67th British Academy Film Awards winners.

Academy Fellowship: Hellen Mirren

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: Peter Greenaway

Best Film: 12 Years a Slave

Outstanding British Film: Gravity
Best Short Film: Room 8

Best Animated Film: Frozen

Best Short Animation: Sleeping with the Fishes

Best Film not in the English Language: The Great Beauty

Best Documentary: The Act of Killing

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)

EE Rising Star Award: Will Poulter

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
Outstanding by a British Writer, Director or Producer: Kieran Evans (Kelly + Victor)
Best Original Screenplay: American Hustle

Best Adapted Screenplay: Philomena

Best Cinematography: Gravity

Best Editing: Rush

Best Production Design: The Great Gatsby

Best Costume Design: The Great Gatsby

Best Make Up & Hair: American Hustle

Best Original Music: Gravity

Best Sound: Gravity

Best Special Visual Effects: Gravity

I think I don’t have much to say about these winners, considering the fact that I haven’t seen any of the films nominated. I don’t dislike the winners and I’m very happy for Jennifer Lawrence. I’ve yet to see her film but I’m sure she did a brilliant job. I think these winners (and nominees too) proved that these awards ween’t exactly a preview of the Academy Awards, as I said in the beginning of this post. They’re considered to be but I don’t think it was shown this year. What do you guys have to say about this year’s winners?

BAFTA 2014 (1)

BAFTA 2014 (2)

BAFTA 2014 (3)
Honestly, this is one of my least favourite red carpets. With so many good choices for the other ceremonies, I don’t understand why they always disappoint in this one. I’ve seen Amy Adams in betters dresses, even thought this one fits her nicely. Maggie Gyllenhaal is one of those people who can surprise you with their choices, either for the better or worse. For me, this was definitely a bad choice. There’s nothing in her dress that I like, probably apart from it being blue (which is my favourite colour). Eleanor Tomlinson’s dress is quite cute (it seems like I’m talking about a puppy or something but I couldn’t find another word) and it suits her. Sophie Kennedy Clark looks beautiful but I have to admit that I dislike the upper part of her dress. Apart from that, it was a lovely choice. Samantha Barks also looks beautiful. It was a perfect dress for her, even thought I kind of was hoping for something else. Alicia Vikander’s dress is just weird. And through to the last two but by far my favourite red carpet looks of this night. I admit I don’t like (not even a bit) female tuxedos but Angelina Jolie knocked everyone with that look. She looks absolutely beautiful. Lastly, Lupita Nyong’o looks so stunning in that dress. In this award’s season she has been the best for me. Can’t wait to see what she’ll take to the Oscars. What do you guys think of this year’s red carpet looks?

10 thoughts on “67th British Academy Film Awards winners + red carpet looks

  1. Blackbird says:

    A interpretação da Jennifer Lawrence está qualquer coisa de espectacular, tens mesmo que ver o filme! aliás, no American Hustle todos os actores estiveram muito bem.
    O meu look preferido foi o da Angelina. Acho que “fugir às regras” foi uma boa opção no caso dela, ficou super bem!

    R: Eu estudo na Faculdade de Direito da Universidade de Lisboa🙂

    Like

  2. Barbirella says:

    Stunning dresses, same here not really impressed with their choices of dress but I love Angelina, she’s the best dressed for me. xo

    Like

  3. Audrey Deal says:

    A minha preferida é a Angelina Jolie, o look dela é completamente diferente do que estamos habituados a ver na passadeira vermelha e não deixou de estar elegante e linda, adorei!

    Like

  4. Inês says:

    Os produtos são tão fantásticos como bem cheirosos🙂
    *
    Não estava à espera que o ator de 12 years a slave ganhasse o óscar de melhor ator, porque pelo menos pensava que a corrida era entre o Matthew Mcconaughey e o Leonardo Dicaprio, mas como ainda não vi 12 years a slave não posso dizer:/

    Like

  5. Miguel Alexandre Pereira says:

    Alguns prémios foram surpreendentes, não estava à espera de algumas vitórias. Vamos lá ver se isso não vai ser indicador de algumas surpresas nos Óscares! Quanto à passadeira vermelha, a maior parte conseguiu exibir-se em grande estilo🙂

    Like

Say what's on your mind

