My 2013 in Movies

During this Christmas I decided to watch some films, since I hadn’t done it for a while. And at that time I decided to publish my list of watched films in 2013. I’m pretty sure I watched more than these twenty films but neither I remember perfectly well all the films I may have watched, nor I am taking into account any film I may have watched for the fourth (or more) time – well, maybe except for one in the second part of the list. I don’t know if this is a huge amount or a very small account of films to have watched in a year but I kinda wish I had watched more since it is something that I love to do, and don’t have always time for.

Every year I make a list of films I want to see in that year but I don’t think I even see a 1/5 of it. It’s a shame because it is something that I really like to do. University doesn’t allow me to do it as often as I’d like to, and tickets prices aren’t exactly cheap (even with the student discount). To kinda kill my thirst for films, in my week-off-study-duty (during the Christmas week) I watched not one, not two, not even three but seven films.

movies_1
Les Misérables” – this film (and the next two) is a must-see. I really liked this film but sometimes it was quite annoying because every single dialogue was sung and it felt like it was too much. Since this is a musical I should have expected that. Details apart, their performances were brilliant and who knew they could really sing? For me the best surprise was Eddie Redmayne. And Samantha Barks has a really pretty voice.

Silver Linings Playbook” – I have a mix opinion on this film and I don’t even know if I really liked it or if I just liked it (if you know what I mean). It’s not like I didn’t like it but when I left the cinema I thought it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. For an Academy nominee I did expect more from the film. Maybe I just had really high expectations about this film. However, Jennifer Lawrence’s performance was absolutely perfect and, for me, it was what saved the film.

Argo” – this has to be the best film of 2012. I’m not the biggest fan of Ben Affleck as an actor (even thought I don’t dislike him) but I do love and admire his work as a film director. The film is so well done that I can’t remember big flaws. Even one year after the last Academy Awards, I still think they made a huge mistake by not having nominated him for the “best director” category – he did absolutely deserved this award. But oh well, at least the other big award ceremonies agreed with me on this. I highly recommend this film to anyone who hasn’t seen it.

The Host” – after watching the “Twilight Saga”, I was expecting this film to suck but it actually didn’t. It’s not an award-winning film but it is not that bad. I have to say that the fact that the casts have nothing to do with each other played a huge role in this. It’s a good film to see if you’re feeling lazy in the afternoon.

Now You See Me” – this is one of my favourite films from 2013 and one of the few that I saw in the cinema. I really liked the plot and on top of all the visual effects. This is a film genre that I can watch over and over. One of the things (well, probably the main thing) I loved about it was its plot twist: absolutely brilliant and at least I didn’t see it coming.

To Rome with Love” – this was my first Woody Allen film and I really liked it. I’m not the biggest fan of rom-coms but this might be one of the few of its kind that I can watch more than twice (because I did watch this film twice last year). I think this film has more comedy than romance and that might be why I liked it so much; and also because it was not cheesy at all.

The Great Gatsby” – another one of my favourite films from 2013. I think I liked pretty much every detail of this film: the plot, the actor’s performances, the soundtrack (that was really amazing and absolutely perfect), the scenery and especially the costume design. If this film gets any nomination for this year’s Academy Awards, it has at least to be for the “best costume design” category. They do deserve it!

The Departed” – this is one of those films that I keep asking myself why on earth I didn’t see it sooner. Once again this is one of my favourite film genres. I can watch pretty much anything from TV shows to films about crime. I did not only liked the plot but also the actor’s performances. And you can’t go wrong with a Martin Scorsese film.

This Is Us” – there’s not exactly much to say about this film. I believe it may only be interesting for the fans of the band, otherwise I don’t think it represents a great suggestion for the majority of people. I did like it a lot because on top of all it is super entertaining.

Dead Silence” – despite having my favourite film genres, I can watch pretty much any kind of film, which is why I don’t mind at all watching horror films (even though I do watch more suspense films than horror ones). Most so-called horror films tend almost not scary at all but this actually didn’t suck. This film is not exaggeratedly scary but it does scare you. The plot is perfect for a horror film but I didn’t like its ending. It’s not that it was terrible; it was just a bit stupid, I think. In the end, I did really enjoyed watching this film.

movies_2
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” – this was for sure the best film I saw last year. As always, an adapted screenplay isn’t exactly 100% true to its original story and that was shown in the first installment of this film series. Not that it was bad; just… some important details weren’t shown or appeared with a different meaning. However, this second film was much better. The main cast’s performances were really good (as they were in the first film), the visual effects (I dare to say they) were perfect and the new addictions to the main cast were really well made. I was very pleased with the performances from Sam Claflin and Jena Malone. When I first saw (back in 2012) that the director for this film had been changed, I thought this film could have just lost its good interpretation of the books. Thankfully I was nothing but wrong. The new director made an even better job than the first one. Thus, now I say this was a change for the best. The main thing that I like in this installment was the fact that it was better adapted from the book and for the first time we had a perfect and true glimpse of what is the real relationships between Katniss and Peeta, Katniss and Gale. My expectations for this film were really high but I didn’t get disappointed at any moment. If you haven’t seen any film from this series, I strongly recommend you to do it.

The Blue Umbrella” – I’ve never paid much attention to short-films but this caught my attention very quickly after I saw its trailer. It’s a very simple story of boy-meets-girl (even though as you may have guessed by the tiles it’s not exactly focused in human beings) but a really cute and quirky one. It is super short (only six minutes) but it’s worth it.

The Bling Ring” – this film caught my attention for two reasons: first, it was directed by Sofia Coppola (I loved her film about Marie Antoinette); second, it started Emma Watson (I’m a huge fan of her as an actress). And of course, the plot seemed really interesting. I liked this film a lot and as much as people may love Hermione Granger, it was good to see Emma Watson grow as an actress and portray such a different character from the first one.

The Internship” – I admit I only saw this film because it had Dylan O’Brien as one of the actors: I really wanted to see how he was (as an actor) outside of “Teen Wolf“. And I think he did a good job. This is a comedic film but I would also say it has a big pinch of romance in it. I wouldn’t say that this film will make you laugh your socks off but it’s funny and you’ll definitely laugh. However, the ending is quite predictable, which does happen a lot in these kind of films. It’s a shame because otherwise it is a good film.

Pitch Perfect” – after seeing some people talking about it, I decided to watch especially because I was too curious to see Anna Kendrick portraying a singing-character. I saw that people compared it to “Glee” but I don’t think there’s anything to compared, so I don’t know where this came from. Nevertheless, this is a really enjoyable film: the plot is kinda normal (but good), the cast’s performances were really good and Rebel Wilson’s character is amazing (she’ll make you laugh during the entire film). Well, once again its ending was predictable but I did like this film a lot. I mean, yes, in the middle of the film you’re like: “so this and this are gonna happen and everyone will have their silver lining and stuff” but I think it didn’t matter in the end.

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones” – apart from the action, thriller, crime and drama genres, I also like fantasy films. And this is one of those cases. Once again, this is another film adapted from  a series of novels. I didn’t read the book so I can’t compared the film to it. However, the film could have been much better. It’s definitely entertaining but that’s all. Even the visual effects could have been better. After watching this film, I am actually curious to know more about this story but not through the next films (apparently they may adapt all the six book of the series) because if they’re going to be as good as this one, well maybe they’re not worth watching. I may end up reading the books, if I find the time to read them.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2” – this was not the first time I watched it and it was neither the second or third. Honestly, I don’t know how many times I’ve watched it (or any other “Harry Potter” film). It has been a tradition in my family to watch a “Harry Potter” film every 25th of December. It started when I would receive the DVD’s for Christmas and now we just re-watch the films. I don’t think that I need to say much about this film; I can simply describe it in one simple and effective word – perfect. Yes, that’s right. This is one of the best film series ever produced. All I’m missing now is the books that I’ll try to read this year.

War Horse” – this is another film that I should have seen when it first premiered. I did enjoy watching this film. It was really well done. And you can’t go wrong with a Steven Spielberg film too. Its plot and cast’s performances were really good and throughout the whole film you create a certain empathy with some of the characters.

Sanctum” – this is one of those films were you kinda have your heart in you mouth during the whole duration of the film. Its visual effects were good but it had some flaws. Despite that fact I liked this film. Honestly, being this a film about caving, I now feel like I don’t even wanna try it (maybe not even spelæology). This film scared me. If you’re too sensitive, well then, this film might not be recommendable to you. However, I still think people should watch it.

Prince of Persia: The Sand of Time” – this film is also an adapted screenplay but this time from a video-game. Once again I can’t say anything about this. All I can say is that it isn’t one of the greatest films ever made but it isn’t that bad at all. I liked it and find it very entertaining, so that’s pretty much enough for me.

Have you seen any of these films? What did you think about it?

15 thoughts on “My 2013 in Movies

  1. Ânia Morouço says:

    Now you see me, Gatsby, e o Principe da Pérsia adoreeeeei!
    Vi também Hunger Games, The Host, Yhe Internship (morri a rir!) e HP7 (OMG não acredito que acabou!!!!). Adoro filmes, mas tenho visto muito mais séries, os filmes que vejo é só no cinema!

    Like

  2. Blackbird says:

    2013 foi o ano em que vi menos filmes. Antigamente via imensos, chegada a ver 2 por semana mas houve uma altura em que isso mudou e hoje em dia vejo 1 por mês e às vezes nem isso. No entanto este ano decidi que vou mais vezes ao cinema portanto espero ver mais. Vi alguns que colocaste aí e tem outros que quero muito ver🙂

    Like

Say what's on your mind

